CJJ Logo

In 1984 the legislature of the State of New Jersey enacted a revision to Title 40A permitting communities to form joint self-insurance funds. Title 40A was subsequently revised in 1990 to include any contracting unit as defined in Section 2 of P.L. 1971, C.198 (C.40A:11-12). The enactment of this legislation was extremely timely because in the mid 1980’s public entities found themselves in the midst of a crisis of insurability wherein coverage was either not available in the commercial market place or was unavailable because the cost was prohibitive.

The Central Jersey Fund commenced operations on July 1, 1998 with 3 charter members.


As of January 1, 2024, the Fund currently has 18 members:

Borough of Belmar, Township of Edison, Township of Franklin, Township of Hillsborough, Borough of Metuchen, Borough of Middlesex, Township of Piscataway, Borough of Sayreville, City of South Amboy, Township of Woodbridge, Borough of Dunellen, Township of East Brunswick, Township of South Brunswick, Borough of South Bound Brook, Metuchen Parking Authority, Dunellen Parking Authority, City of Rahway and Township of North Brunswick.